Prayer Guide – Holy Week 1

As we begin Holy Week, remembering the last week of Christ’s life and ministry on earth, you are invited to meditate on the events leading up to the cross.


Stand before God with reverence and openness saying:

In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen

Having invoked the Holy Trinity, keep silence for a little while, so that your thoughts and feelings may be freed from whatever holds you back, and begin re-centering in God.  Then recite the following prayers without haste, and with your whole heart.


The Tax Collector’s Prayer

God, have mercy on me, a sinner.

(or if you are using another breath prayer, use that instead  https://blvdabbey.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/lent-prayer-guide-week-2-breath-prayer/)

Opening Sentences

My soul waits for the Lord
more than those who watch for the morning,
more than those who watch for the morning.

Out of the depths I have cried to You.

O Lord, hear my voice.

Scripture Reading

John 12:9-19

http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=John%2012:9-19&version=TNIV

The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, in heaven, hallowed be your name,

Your Kingdom come, your will be done

On earth, as it is in heaven.

Give us today our daily bread

And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors

And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

For yours is the Kingdom, and the power, and the glory forever and ever.  Amen.

Blessing

Christ, as a light – illumine and guide me.
Christ, as a shield – overshadow me.
Christ under me; Christ over me; Christ beside me – on my left and my right.
This day be within and without me, lowly and meek, yet all-powerful.
Be in the heart of each to whom I speak; in the mouth of each who speaks unto me.
This day be within and without me, lowly and meek, yet all-powerful.
Christ as a light; Christ as a shield; Christ beside me – on my left and my right.

We ask this through our Lord Jesus Christ, your Son, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, forever and ever.  Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment